Addelyn is a seventeen-year-old who has spent years battling depression and the myriad of unhealthy behaviors that coincide. After being alienated from her parents when she came out as gay and losing her main support systems, she commits suicide. Told from her unique perspective after dying, she is forced to come to terms with the fallout of her death and how it impacts everyone she used to know.

She watches as her family falls apart. Her older sister, April, who she had always seen as a role model, begins dabbling with drug use, her father turns to alcohol to cope, and her younger brother is forced to hold the whole family upon his shoulders.

Her best friend, Sarah, and her ex-girlfriend, Olive, had left her, but soon Addelyn begins to realize that wasn’t the whole story. With Olive and Sarah working through their grief, she comes to terms with a new perspective on why they left her as stories of rape and hardship come to light. Her old ideas of being worthless are challenged as she begins to wish she could help them through their grief. 

Reality begins to beg the question: was her life as meaningless as she always believed?

About the Author

Charlotte Witvoet is a sixteen-year-old who has struggled her whole life with mental illness. After years of mental hospitals, therapy, and a cocktail of medication, this novel pulled her through the most difficult times in her life. She continues to be an advocate for mental health, LGBTQ+ equality, and sexual assault.

She hopes this will be the first book of many she writes that will make a difference.

Book details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Joshua Tree Publishing (July 4, 2020)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 234 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 6977373598
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-6977373590
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 8.4 ounces
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 6 x 0.59 x 9 inches
    • Coming of Age Fiction (Books)
    • Family Life Fiction (Books)