Joshua Tree Publishing We Believe in Authors!

Based in Chicago, Joshua Tree Publishing is an innovative publisher dedicated to making your dreams of being a published author a reality. Not tomorrow. Not next year. But today. We specialize in works that uplift the human spirit, inspire people to reach for higher goals, and touch the hearts of readers.

In the News

LA Times Book Prizes

Los Angeles Times Book Prizes 2013 Robert Kirsch Award: from left to right: David L. Ulin, Book Critic of LA Times; winner Kevin Starr; Johnathan Kirsch, presenter.
(More Award Info)

Secrets of Publishing
Radio Interview

Listen to the Radio Interview Online with
John Paul Owles,







The Root of Evil

The Root of Evil

Author: Niles Rader

13-Digit ISBN: 978-0-9768677-5-3 (Centaur Books)

Specs: 5" x 8" Perfect Bound  156 Pages

Publication Date: April, 2008

Retail Price: $13.95

David and Mary Walls had married, and their life was good. Then suddenly Mary’s father, Bernard Thomes, was killed. She and David began receiving anonymous phone calls asking for a disk belonging to her father. Scared, they decide to ask Otis and Jim Rice, a private investigator and lawyer, for help in finding out just what is going on and with whom they are dealing. Mr. Thomes was in business with some disreputable people—and they want their money and a certain disk back.

Otis and Jim Rice go right to work on the mystery but do not have a lot of clues. The safe in Mr. Thomes’ home is open and supposedly money is missing. Finding out who is calling will take a while, and before long, another murder takes place. Otis has a hint of things to come, but he has no proof.

Author Niles Rader

Author Niles Rader is the author of twelve books and a retired widower in the exciting city of Las Vegas. He enjoys writing books and playing golf, his favorite pastime.

Niles has recently completed the sixth in the series of detective mystery books about the Rice Brothers. The series includes Betrayed by Greed, Dumb Luck Pays Off, Death Was Inevitable, Death by Deceit, The Root of Evil, and Death Does Not Wait.